Academic Technologies Advisory Council

The Role of ATAC

Assist the Provost’s Office and the CIO in setting directions and priorities for developing, implementing, and evaluating instructional technology directions for the University. (November 2002)


  • Set directions and priorities for use of the University’s instructional technology resources. Pursue integration of instructional technology needs and directions with University information systems.
  • Identify new academic technologies to be investigated and piloted and, if found desirable, provided to the University. Develop, encourage and articulate the connection between research and the classroom.
  • Continually evaluate the instructional technology support provided to the University (both centrally and at the collegiate level) and recommend enhancements and changes.
  • Communicate instructional technology directions and initiatives to faculty, staff and students.
  • Solicit feedback from the University on instructional technology needs and desired directions.


Innovations in Teaching with Technology Awards


FY17 Innovations in Teaching with Technology Awards (ITTA) 

Call for Proposals

Proposals will be accepted starting September 15.

Deadline for submitting a proposal: October 17.

Projects involving collaborative learning and student use of emerging technologies are encouraged, and projects should be new to the UI.

Visit the ITTA website to learn more about the awards program including the guidelines for submitting a proposal and past award winners.



ATAC Members for FY16

Name College/Unit Department
Steve Fleagle, Executive Sponsor  Information Technology Services CIO Office
Lon Moeller, Executive Sponsor  Office of the Provost  
Maggie Jesse, Facilitator Information Technology Services Office of Teaching, Learning & Technology
Veeratrishul Allareddy College of Dentistry  
Dave Asprey College of Medicine Office of Student Affairs and Curriculum
Amber Brian College of Liberal Arts Spanish and Portuguese
George De La Pena College of Liberal Arts & Sciences Dance
Ben Devane College of Education Educational Psychology
Kennith Culp College of Nursing  
Rick Mergenthaler College of Business  
Paul Hanley College of Engineering  
Darren Hoffman College of Medicine  
Brian Lai Liberal Arts & Sciences Political Science
Kevin Moores College of Pharmacy  
Annette Beck, Chris Clark, Jean Florman Information Technology Services Office of Teaching, Learning & Technology
Lily Garcia College of Dentistry  
Linda Walton University Libraries  
Anne Zalenski Division of Continuing Education